E-Services are a critical component for establishing e-Government. All government entities under the Digital Bangladesh vision are currently engaged in provided electronic services or e-services to the citizens and business. E-Services are the final outcome from BNDA (Bangladesh National Digital Architecture). The BNDA framework, principles, standards, guidelines, software, tools and infrastructure would be used to develop better, improved, accessible and reusable e-Services by government organizations. E-Services would include government-to-government (G2G) or government-to-citizen (G2C) or government-to-business (G2B) or government-to-employee (G2E).

The Government under BNDA has introduced National Digital Architecture (NDA) Bus (known as National e-Service Bus) under Bangladesh National Digital Architecture (BNDA) framework to ensure interoperability, availability and reusability of government online services, information and data. National e-Service Bus is software driven middleware platform which is being developed keeping a provision to enable online services, sharing of information and data of ministries, departments and directorates to ensure interoperability and end user’s easy access to it.

E-service Bus and Different Govt applications/services

NDA bus is a critical component in the interoperability architecture domain and key to ensuring seamless exchange of information and services for Government of Bangladesh. Considering the scope and span of NDA bus, due procedures and guidelines have been established around the governance to ensure robust and standardized controls are being followed by the NDA working team. NDA bus is based on service oriented architecture paradigm. The service definition and deployment lifecycle has been covered and due procedures including the roles and responsibilities defined for the benefit of the SOA team working on NDA bus. As a part of BNDA phase 1 conceptualization, couple of e-Services have been developed on the BNDA components (NDA bus, service delivery platform and national data center cloud). The individual software components comprising of these e-services would be made available to other government organizations to enable faster software development time and reduce development costs. E-services that are already integrated (not limited to) with e-service bus:

  • Citizen authentication service
  • Birth & Death registration System
  • BTRC SIM registration database
  • e-Recruitment System
  • Porichoy.gov.bd
  • MyGov Platform
  • RAJUK ECP system
  • Food grain procurement from miller/farmer
  • 11+ citizen services of A2I
  • Geospatial data Platform
  • DLS (Distributed Ledger System) Platform
  • Pay fixation System
  • Alapon messenger app
  • e-Pension service for primary school teacher
  • CPTU e-GP (e-Government Procurement) system
  • Disability Detection system, Dept of Social Services (DSS)
  • Digital Service Delivery Platform, Ministry of Social Welfare

More applications and services are in pipeline to be integrated with national e-service bus shortly. Each of these three e-Services share common platforms and technologies:

  • BNDA design and standards have been used to build the foundation architecture for the three E-services
  • All of the e-services are registered on the NDA Bus
  • The three e-Services uses common technology and programming languages
  • They are using the same business automation and workflow engine
  • Common reporting engine has been used to meet the backend reporting requirements
  • They are hosted on shared cloud infrastructure (BCC national data center

For example, citizen authentication is a foundation building block used by all these three e-Services. A citizen is required to be authenticated against NID database for job application, a farmer needs to be authenticated to be eligible for selling grains to government and teachers are required to establish their identity through national identity. Hence all the three e-services require authentication of a citizen against the NID database.